skip navigation

Whitaker Earns Baseball All-State Honors

Whitaker Earns Baseball All-State Honors

NEWPORT NEWS, VA-Rookie pitcher Zach Whitaker (Roanoke, VA/Patrick Henry) has earned Second Team All-State honors as voted on by the Virginia Sports Information Directors (VaSID). The honors follow ODAC Rookie of the Year and First Team All-ODAC accolades for the right hander.

The USA South took home Player and Coach of the Year honors while the ODAC boasted the Pitcher and Rookie of the Year. Shenandoah's outfielder Jake Pendergraft was named the Player of the Year, and Christopher Newport's John Harvell earned Coach of the Year honors. Aces Kevin Chandler of Bridgewater and Brandon Miller of Lynchburg were respectively named the Pitcher and Rookie of the Year. 

This season, Whitaker posted a 7-4 record with two saves in 17 appearances and nine starts. In conference, the rookie went 5-1 with three complete games. Against Emory and Henry, the rookie pitched nine shutout innings, and against Virginia Wesleyan and Bridgewater, he allowed one run in each of his nine innings pitched. In 72.0 innings pitched, posted a 3.38 ERA with 53 strikeouts to just 19 walks. He was tied for first in the ODAC in wins, third in innings pitched, fourth in strikeouts and appearances, and tied for sixth in saves.

The entire VaSID All-State list is below.

2012 VaSID College Division All-State Baseball Teams

First Team

C – Devon Snow, Bridgewater College

1B – Jordan Walton, Randolph-Macon College

2B – Josh McMillian, Emory & Henry College

3B – Dan Savage, Lynchburg College

SS – Paul Jaglowski, Ferrum College

OF – Beau Banglesdorf, Eastern Mennonite University

OF – Kyle Newcomb, Averett University

OF – Jake Pendergraft, Shenandoah University

DH – Nick Beall, Shenandoah University

UTIL – Cory Nelson, Shenandoah University

SP – Kevin Chandler, Bridgewater College

SP – Robert Garrett, Lynchburg College

SP – Greg Goldsmith, Christopher Newport University

RP – Ryan Fleischmann, Christopher Newport University

RP – Brandon Miller, Lynchburg College


Second Team

C – Ben Lenda, Christopher Newport University

1B – Jimmy Carter, Averett University

2B – Matt Shoemaker, Christopher Newport University

3B – Luke Saunders, Christopher Newport University

SS – Michael Kenah, Lynchburg College

OF – Joey Donofrio, Shenandoah University

OF – Connor Madden, Christopher Newport University

OF – Richard Palase, Lynchburg College

DH – Brock Shifflett, Lynchburg College

UTIL – Nicholas Christopher, Virginia State University

SP – Corey Armentrout, Bridgewater College

SP – Robert Gallet, Bridgewater College

SP – Zach Whitaker, Hampden-Sydney College

RP – Matt Riegler, Shenandoah University

RP – Matt Verdillo, Christopher Newport University


Player of the Year: Jake Pendergraft, Shenandoah University

Pitcher of the Year: Kevin Chandler, Bridgewater College

Rookie of the Year: Brandon Miller, Lynchburg College

Coach of the Year: John Harvell, Christopher Newport University

Tigers Fall 4-1 to Greensboro
February 28, 2012 Tigers Fall 4-1 to Greensboro
Tigers Lend a Helping Hand
October 21, 2011 Tigers Lend a Helping Hand