skip navigation

Coach Rostan Named ODAC Coach of the Year, Eight Make All-ODAC

2017 ODAC Coach of the Year, Jason Rostan
2017 ODAC Coach of the Year, Jason Rostan

Eight student-athletes were named to this year's Lacrosse All-ODAC team while Head Coach Jason Rostan was selected Coach of the Year.

Coach Rostan has helped guide the Tigers to a record-breaking 16-win season in his first year as the head mentor of the team. H-SC won the ODAC Championship for the first time since 2001, and the Tigers earned their first NCAA Tournament win since 2003 on Wednesday against Transylvania. The team has also broken the school record for single-season points (468) and goals (295). Hampden-Sydney will be going for win #17 on on the road this Saturday against #1 ranked Salisbury.

Earning First-Team laurels are Ian Levin, Hunter Brown, and Kent Henry. Both Levin and Brown broke the previous school record for total points, which was set at 78 by Rob Bonaventura in 1982. Levin is second on the squad in points with 83, courtesy of 53 goals and 30 assists. His 53 goals are the second most in school single-season history. Levin was named to the ODAC All-Tournament Team. He scored a season-high eight points against eventual NCAA Tournament participant Sewanee and has tallied 17 points in four postseason contests thus far.

Brown leads the team in points with 84 and ranks third in the nation for midfielder points. He was the top vote receiver for ODAC midfielders, and he shattered the school record for midfielder points in a season, which was established at 68 points by 2010 ODAC Player of the Year, Kyle Jett. Additionally, he has tied the program record for season assists at 43. Since being held to one point against #7 Cabrini, he has averaged 4.31 points per game in 16 games, scoring at least three points in 15 of those games.

Henry, also a member of the ODAC All-Tournament team, has been one of the premiere defenseman in the South this spring. Consistently tasked with defending an opponent's top offensive threat, he has played a prominent role in helping shut down or limit several All-ODAC players and potential All-Americans. In the ODAC Tournament, he primarily held Shenandoah's Ryan Schott, ODAC Player of the Year A.J. Witherell from Washington and Lee, and Lynchburg's First-Team All-ODACer Evan Lombardo to just a combined five goals and two assists on 25 shots.

Second-Team honorees include Duncan Morris, Chandler Shaheen, Jared Arntzen, and Triston Stegall. Morris has capped a remarkable career with his most outstanding season to date, tallying 62 points, the 11th most in school history, along with 53 goals, tied for the second highest total in H-SC history. Additionally, he ranks 10th in school history for career points with 162 and sixth in career goals with 134. Some of his best games have come in the post season, against ranked teams, or versus squads that made the NCAA Tournament as he has contributed 26 goals and four assists in eight games against such teams.

Shaheen has had an outstanding season from the midfield with 59 points while leading all ODAC midfielders in goals by over 10 goals with 53, tied for the second most goals in school season history. He also ranks fifth for most points by a midfielder in a season. He registered a season-high of five points in the regular season against Ohio Northern and Washington and Lee, and he has contributed 12 goals and one assist in four postseason contests.

Arntzen has been dominant on faceoffs in nearly every contest and has upped his game in the postseason. For the year, he has won an impressive 67% of his faceoff attempts while scooping 145 ground balls, leading the ODAC in both categories, while also ranking 17th nationally in win percentage. Arntzen had a season-best performance of 22 wins on 24 attempts against Bridgewater with 13 ground balls then followed the next game with a 16-18 mark and a season-best 14 ground balls vs. Virginia Wesleyan. In four postseason games, he is 62-85 (72.9%) with 42 ground balls. Arntzen has also scored twice and assisted on two other goals.

Stegall has been one of the Tiger's top defensemen this season and is frequently up to the task of defending a premier scoring threat. In the ODAC Tournament, he shut down All-ODAC players Sam Dardani (W&L), Stephen LaTona (SU), and Andrew Thomas (LC), limiting them to a measly combined two goals on nine shots in an impressive team defensive efforts that saw each ODAC Tournament opponent held to below their season scoring average.

Rounding out the All-ODAC awards is Bucky Potter on the Third-Team and Wilson Booth on the Ray Rostan Sportsmanship team. Potter has played in all 21 games and is the team's top defensive midfielder, bringing consistency and toughness as an emotional captain and leader for the Tigers. He has contributed 11 caused turnovers along with an assist.

Booth has been a strong faceoff midfielder for the Tigers. He has won 122 of his 204 attempts, good for 13th in the league. Additionally, his 71 ground balls ranks fifth in the conference.

Lax Downs Guilford 15-10
April 12, 2017 Lax Downs Guilford 15-10
Tigers Down CNU 13-10
February 25, 2017 Tigers Down CNU 13-10
Follow the Tigers Online
September 5, 2016 Follow the Tigers Online