skip navigation


2017 ODAC Champions
2017 ODAC Champions

Hampden-Sydney Lacrosse won the ODAC Championship with a 14-9 win over Lynchburg College. The Tigers earn an automatic berth to the NCAA Tournament. It is H-SC's fifth ODAC Championship, the first since 2001, and the first ODAC Tournament Championship with the tournament starting with the 2002 season.

Nick Arcuri, Jared Arntzen, Kent Henry, and Ian Levin were named to the All-Tournament Team.



  • Hampden-Sydney got on the scoreboard first with a goal from Chandler Shaheen at 13:35, but Lynchburg's Chris Camarca tied the game at 7:18
  • Ian Levin registered the next two tallies, including one with just six seconds left, to provide H-SC a 3-1 lead after the first quarter
  • Lynchburg capitalized off H-SC penalties and scored the first three goals of the second quarter, two of the man up variety, to take a 4-3 lead at 11:18
  • Jack Doetzer drew H-SC even at 4-4 just over a minute later, then Shaheen and Connor Pool scored at 8:44 and 2:19 to go out in front 6-4
  • Logan Adams cut the lead in half at 1:18, but Doetzer found the back of the net with only 17 seconds left to put H-SC back up two, 7-5.
  • Jared Arntzen won the ensuing faceoff, picked up the groundball, and scored with seven ticks left on the clock to provide Hampden-Sydney a three-goal cushion at the break
    Lynchburg committed a penalty before halftime, giving Hampden-Sydney the ball to start the third quarter, and the Tigers made them pay as Levin scored at 14:24
  • Lynchburg cut the lead down three, 9-6, at 7:48, but Robbie Bugbee scored a little over a minute later and John Burke added on another one at 2:25 to put the Tigers ahead 11-6
  • Daniel Owens went on to score at the 1:17 mark, but Levin found Hunter Brown with 25 seconds to play to put H-SC back up five, 12-7, after three quarters
  • The Hornets recorded the first two goals of the fourth quarter to trail just three goals, 12-9 with 7:06 remaining in the game
  • Bugbee tallied his second goal of the game at 4:01 after he was pushed down just in front of the crease but had the presence of mind to shoot while lying on his back, catching the Lynchburg goalkeeper off guard
  • Brown ended the game with an exclamation point with a solo goal with five seconds remaining


  • Jared Arntzen dominated on faceoffs, winning 17 of 23 with 12 ground balls and a goal
  • Ian Levin posted five points on three goals and two assists. He broke the school record for single-season points with 80. The record was previously held by Rob Bonavantura who scored 78 in 1982
  • Hunter Brown totaled two goals and one assist for three points. He tied the previous school record for points in a season with 78, a record broken earlier in the game by teammate Levin
  • Nick Arcuri made nine saves
  • Connor Pool scored once and assisted on another with four ground balls
  • Chandler Shaheen found the back of the net twice
  • Jack Doetzer contributed two goals
  • Robbie Bugbee registered two scores


  • Logan Adams led Lynchburg with a goal and three assists
  • Daniel Owens and Andrew Thomas each scored twice
  • Evan Lombardo, tied for the ODAC lead in goals scored, was held to only one goal with one assist
  • CJ Santora stopped 12 shots


  • The Tigers won 19 of the game's 25 faceoffs
  • The Tigers won the groundball battle 33-24
  • Lynchburg outshot Hampden-Sydney 42-35 but they had just 18 shots on goal compared to 26 for H-SC


Lax Downs Guilford 15-10
April 12, 2017 Lax Downs Guilford 15-10
Tigers Down CNU 13-10
February 25, 2017 Tigers Down CNU 13-10
Follow the Tigers Online
September 5, 2016 Follow the Tigers Online